From keeping you fit to being an environmentally friendly way to travel, there’s many benefits to cycling.

And if children are never going to forget how to ride a bike, have them learn how to ride safely and encouraging cycling as a way to have fun is key.

The Summer of Cycling is designed to do just that. There’s something for children of all abilities to get involved in with activities taking place right across North Tyneside.

Learn to Ride

Have a bike but haven’t learned how to ride it yet? The Learn to Ride course aims to teach children aged 5+ how.

  • Friday 12 August, 10.30am-11.30am and 1pm-2pm, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Friday 19 August, 10.30am-11.30am and 1pm-2pm, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Friday 26 August, 10.30am-11.30am and 1pm-2pm, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Friday 2 September, 10.30am-11.30am and 1pm-2pm, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.  

Adapted Cycling and Adapted Tennis

Inclusive sessions with standard trikes (some with adapted pedals), recumbent trikes, hand cycle, side by side tandem trike, wheelchair bike, Tomcat adaptable bike. Children must be 8+ and come with a responsible adult or carer.

  • Monday 25 July, 4.30pm-6pm, Churchill Playing Fields, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 28 July, 4.30pm-6pm, Richardson Dees Park, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 1 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Churchill Playing Fields, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 4 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Richardson Dees Park, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 8 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Churchill Playing Fields, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 9 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Richardson Dees Park, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 15 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Churchill Playing Fields, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 18 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Richardson Dees Park, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 22 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Churchill Playing Fields, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 25 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Richardson Dees Park, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 29 August, 4.30pm-6pm, Churchill Playing Fields, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 1 September, 4.30pm-6pm, Richardson Dees Park, more information and booking here.

Level 1 Bikeability

Children learn how to be the boss of their bike with skills around bike maintenance and mastering the basics like pedalling and braking. Level 1 courses take place off-road so children can learn in a traffic-free environment, find out more here.

  • Thursday 25 August, 9.30am-11.30am, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 25 August, 1pm-3pm, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 1 September, 9.30am-11.30am, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Thursday 1 September, 1pm-3pm, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.

Level 2 Bikeability

Children will swot up on understanding road markings and how to share the road with other vehicles. Level 2 courses take place on quiet roads to experience “real” cycling, find out more here.

  • Monday 25 July, 9.30am-3.30pm, Rising Sun Country Park, more information and booking here.
  • Tuesday 26 July, 9.30am-3.30pm, Shiremoor Adventure Playground, more information and booking here.
  • Wednesday 27 July, 9.30am-3.30pm, Lakeside Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 1 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Rising Sun Country Park, more information and booking here.
  • Tuesday 2 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Waves, more information and booking here.
  • Wednesday 3 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, John Willie Sam’s Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 8 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Rising Sun Country Park, more information and booking here.
  • Tuesday 9 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Westmoor Community Centre, more information and booking here.   
  • Wednesday 10 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Waves, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 15 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Rising Sun Country Park, more information and booking here.
  • Tuesday 16 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Waves, more information and booking here.
  • Wednesday 17 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Monday 22 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Rising Sun Country Park, more information and booking here.
  • Tuesday 23 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Cedarwood Trust, more information and booking here.
  • Wednesday 24 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Lakeside Centre, more information and booking here.
  • Tuesday 30 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, The Parks Sports Centre, more information and booking here.   
  • Wednesday 31 August, 9.30am-3.30pm, Hadrian Leisure Centre, more information and booking here.